Existential Crisis begins in 3…2…..

I’m 31. Life has not turned out the way I expected. I am not where I thought I would be. Friends, and even family have passed me by as I try to figure out how to take the next step. 1 step forward and 2 steps back seems to be my consistent rhythm. I am questioning every single piece of what has ever made me who I am.

How does one go about choosing a life path? How can you be certain about anything when there are so many options and opinions? How do you move forward when you can’t tell which way is up?

I recognize that to some these musings are the luxury of a young woman with very few worries. I understand that I may sound like a spoiled child with too much time on her hands. Some may even call this a crisis of faith and worry about my soul!

But I believe that without our questions, we cannot become what the future may have for us. Plato is credited with one of my favorite quotes, “An unexamined life is not worth living.”

So, I will ask the hard questions and the easy ones. I will jump at unusual opportunities. I will accept the random encounters and strange conversations that float my way. I will wrestle with the contradictions.

And I will do my best to take you with me. So stick around, but only if you are willing to give my crazy life a little space to stretch its legs and see what it can do.

See you out there!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

